Skip to main content

Dean's Diamond Circle

Join Our Supporters

Generous alumni and friends support the School of Nursing through their membership in the Dean’s Diamond Circle. We celebrate our donors each year with a festive dinner in the spring, reflecting on the University of Rochester School of Nursing's accomplishments and honoring alumni achievements.

Dean's Diamond Circle membership begins at the $1,000 annual giving level.

Make a Gift to Join Now

Dean's Diamond Circle

Dean's Diamond Circle Event

The annual Dean’s Diamond Circle dinner recognizes individuals who have made an impact on the UR School of Nursing and community. Each spring, school leaders, supporters, and students reflect on the previous year’s accomplishments and present the following awards:

  • Dean’s Medal
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award
  • Legacy Award
  • Humanitarian Award
  • John N. Wilder Award

Nominations will be accepted through November 30, 2023

Submit Your Nomination

Deans Diamond Award Recipients 2023

Margaret H. Kearney Headshot

 Dean's Medal 

Margaret H. Kearney, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor Emerita Maggie Kearney is a nationally recognized expert on rigorous qualitative research. Her early research centered on socially high-risk pregnant and parenting women's health perceptions and decisions. She specialized in to the study of health behavior using systematic naturalistic approaches to analysis of open-ended interviews and observations.

More about Margaret

Dennis L. Kitzman Headshot

 Legacy Award 

Dennis L. Kitzman

From early years growing up in the “Brighton Brickyards” to his time as a standout three-sport athlete at his beloved Brighton High School to his decades-long career at Rochester Telephone Corporation, Dennis Kitzman is Rochester through and through. And together with his late wife, Harriet Kitzman, PhD, RN, FAAN, he has left an indelible mark on the city that has been so integral to his life—and the School that was the cornerstone of his wife’s remarkable career—most recently by establishing the Dennis L. and Harriet J. Kitzman Endowed Fellowship Fund.

Read more about Dennis

Dianne Morrison-Beedy Headshot

 Distinguished Alumnus 


Dr. Morrison-Beedy currently serves as the Chief Talent and Global Strategy Officer and Centennial Professor of Nursing at The Ohio State University. In this role she is committed to developing the next generation of nurse leaders and scientists and creating global citizens. She has successfully established student education, faculty research endeavors, and collaborative global partnerships across multiple continents. She holds international distinguished visiting professorial appointments in England, Spain, Philippines, Portugal, Scotland, Italy, Greece, and Thailand. Prior to this, she served as Dean of the University of South Florida College of Nursing and Senior Associate Vice President of USF Health.

More about Dianne


Award Recipients by Year

2023 Margaret H. Kearney
2022 Mary-Therese B. Dombeck ’78N (MS), ’84 (MA), ’89 (PhD) 
2021 Joanne V. Clements ’77N, ’88N (MS), ’92N (PMC)
2020 Patricia Chiverton '80N (MS), '91W (EdD)
2019 Harriet Kitzman '61N (MS), '84N (PhD) 
2018 Jane I. Tuttle BS79 MS84
2017 Carol A. Brink '56N, '62N
2016 Madeline Schmitt 65N, '70 (MA)
2015 Karen and Robert Sutherland '61N, P '85 and '66M (PhD), P '85
2014 Janet Scala '55N
2013 Elaine C. Hubbard 
2012 Fay W. Whitney '60, '61N
2011 Dr. Jean E. Johnson
2010 Rachel B. Bandych
2010 Bernard B. Brody '51M (MD)
2010 Sarah A. Epstein
2009 Loretta Ford '00 (HNR)

2022 Kathy A. Hiltunen ’78N, ’91S (MBA)
2022 Kim Urbach ’98N (MS)
2021 Jose Perpignan ’16N
2020 Megan Reynolds '19N (BS)
2018 Elizabeth Sloand BS75
2017 Terry Jean Yonker '03N (MS)
2014 Patricia Bull '74N
2013 Keri L. Baker '11N

2023 Dennis L. Kitzman
2022 Elizabeth Marie Nolan ’78N (MS)
2020 Elaine Andolina '79N (MS) - Andolina Family
2020 Amy Karch '71N (BS), '71 (BS) - Karch Famiky
2018 Steven R. Young   
2018 Susan A. Young
2017 Pam Klainer '80W (EdD)
2016 John Schottmiller '53
2015 Spindler Family Foundation
2014 Thelma J. Wells
2014 Aldo Fioravanti
2013 Robert H. Hurlbut '12N (ScD)
2013 Richard I. Mulvey

2023 Dianne C. Morrison-Breedy  ’93N (PhD)
2022 Jacquelyn C. Campbell ’86N (PhD) 
2022 Sally Ellis Fletcher ’10N (PhD)
2021 Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk ’92N (PhD), ’02N (PMC)
2020 LeRon Nelson '02N (BS), '04N (MS), '09N (PhD)
2018 Nancy Dianis (MS85)
2017 Christine Tebaldi '96N, '01N (MS) 
2016 Cynthia Connolly '87N (MS)
2015 Pat Witzel '75N, '84S (MBA)
2014 Patricia Tabloski '89N (PhD)
2013 Maryjoan D. Ladden '78N (MS)
2012 Carol A. Brink '52N, '62N 
2012 Patricia S. Larrabee '77N (MS)
2011 Patricia Lynn Stone '97M (PhD)
2008 Madeline Schmitt '65N, '70 (MS)
2007 Diane Lauver '78N (MS), '87N (PhD)
2006 Patricia High Gorzka '61N
2005 Lynn Nagle '95N (PhD) 
2004 Meredeth Anne Rowe '94N (PhD)
2003 Marilyn Fiske '67, '67N
2002 Pamela Austin Thompson '79N (MS)
2001 Eileen Sullivan Marx '80N (MS)
2000 Elizabeth K. Walker '62N, '73N (MS), '81 (MS), '86 (PhD)
1999 Kathleen Parrinello '75N, '83N (MS), '90W (PhD)
1998 Lois Christianson Giess '63N 
1997 Mary Oliver Hauptman '77N
1996 Cynthia Allen Hart '46N, '70, '76N (MS), '86W (PhD)
1995 Phyllis Arn Zimmer '72N 
1994 Gerri Lamb '78N (MS)
1993 Jacquelyn Campbell '86N (PhD)
1992 Dorothy D. Aeschliman '48, '49N 
1991 Jane Tuttle '79M, '84N (MS)
1990 Harriet Kitzman '61W (MS), '84N (PhD)
1989 Mary Ann Christ '73N, '75N (MS), '81W (EdD)
1988 Fay L. Whitney '60, '61N
1987 Judith L. Johnson '61N
1985 Joan Lynaugh '61, '68N (MS)
1984 Josephine Craytor '46N, '60W (MS)

2020 Patrick P. Lee Foundation
2017 Barbara Vallone 
2016 Lisa Norsen '77N, '83N (MS), '92N (PMC), '07N (PhD)
2014 Davenport Hatch Foundation
2013 T.C. Lewis and Pamela McQuilkin Lewis '60, '62 
2012 Jonathan G. Terry
2011 Connie Lynn Leary '59N
2010 Evelyn Lutz '55N, '63 

For additional information on becoming a Dean’s Diamond Circle member,
please contact Andrea Allen, senior director of advancement and alumni relations, at
(585) 276-4336 or
Scroll to top of page