Skip to main content

SON Celebrates Faculty and Staff at Year-End Awards

  By Marianne Benjamin
  Tuesday, June 21, 2022

The School of Nursing held a recognition event this spring to highlight the contributions of its faculty and staff. The event featured a reception and the presentation of the school’s year-end awards.

Faculty & Staff 2022 Award Winners

Yingzi Zhang, PhD, RN , who received the Most Promising New Investigator Award for her work in cancer research. 

Lauren Lee, MS, RN , who received the Professional Advancement Award for her efforts to advance the goals and enrollment of the Master's in Nursing Education program by developing and implementing the new role of Experiential Learning Coordinator to support MNE students and preceptors.

Amy Vierhile, DNP, RN, PNP-BC , who was named Outstanding Scholarly Practitioner for exemplifying the unification model in every way. Vierhile is a well-funded and published researcher, a gifted NP clinician (and lead APP) in child neurology, and a dedicated educator.

The SON Educational Innovation (EdIT) team, which earned the Outstanding Faculty Colleague award for providing critical support and guidance to the academic mission of the school through their collegiality.

The team includes:
Tara Serwetnyk, EdD, RN, NPD-BC ; Joseph Gomulak-Cavicchio, EdD, MSEd ; Kathryn Shapiro, MS, RN, CHSE ; Julie Waite, MS, RN ; Nadine Taylor , Kaitlyn Burke, MS, RN, CCRN, CNE-cl ; Rebekah Greene, PhD ; Jennifer Truax, MS, RNC-OB, C-EFM , and Lisa Brigandi.

Taylor also received the Outstanding Staff Colleague Award for being a significant resource to faculty, staff, and students alike.

Maria Quiñones-Cordero, PhD , who received the Mary Dombeck Diversity Enhancement Faculty Award for her significant commitment to enhance diversity and inclusiveness at the UR School of Nursing.

Vestina (Tina) Turner, who received the Mary Dombeck Diversity Enhancement Staff Award for her commitment to the success of the Jordan Health pilot project so that the Center for Employee Wellness team could further integrate the program into high need areas where the impact would be greatest.

Anne Woodruff , who received Outstanding Staff Member of the Year for being a stellar team player, and a very supportive and responsible staff member at the School of Nursing.

Ann Delario, who received Outstanding Staff Member of the Year for her display of professionalism, inclusiveness, and a commitment to supporting the APNN program to be the best for the students.

Larry Palumbos , who was also named Outstanding Staff Member of the Year for being an outstanding and valuable team member who ensures all of the IT needs are met across the school.

Faculty & Staff 2022 Special Recognitions

Josephine Craytor Nursing Faculty Awards that recognize outstanding nurse educators and provide an annual monetary award to further the professional development and research efforts of exceptional nursing faculty went to: Michael Rosario-McCabe, EdD, MS, RN , Susan Stanek, PhD, MSN/Ed, RN and Chen Zhang, PhD, MPH .

Jeremy A. Klainer Entrepreneurship Fund provides financial support in furtherance of an idea that corresponds to the School's strategic priorities. Recipients included: Meghan Underhill-Blazey, PhD, APRN, AOCNS, FAAN Ann Leonhardt Caprio, DNP, RN ; Palumbos, Kimberly Buholtz, EdD, MS, RN , and Erin Baylor, DNP, RN, PNP-BC, ONP .

The Dean’s Appreciation Award went to Sandy Gasserlick for her significant contributions to the School of Nursing, and to Sharon Botsford of Formula One Catering.

The school also acknowledged two departing longtime faculty members: Marianne Chiafery, DNP, PNP-BC , associate professor of clinical nursing, and Bethel Powers, PhD, RN, FSAA, FGSA , professor and director of the PhD program. Both are retiring on June 30.

Media Contact

Contact the Communications Office with media inquiries related to the University of Rochester School of Nursing.

Scroll to top of page